ASNR Awards Pedro Lylyk, MD, with the 2023 Honorary Member Award

ASNR Awards Pedro Lylyk, MD, with the 2023 Honorary Member Award

by SilanAdmin

Pedro Lylyk ASNR

The 2023 ASNR Awards Committee, chaired by Tina Young Poussaint, MD, FACR, has selected Pedro Lylyk, MD as recipients of the ASNR 2023 Annual Awards.

Prof. Pedro Lylyk MD, is Professor with Tenure of Endovascular Surgery at the Universidad de Ciencias Sociales y Empresariales (UCES), of Vascular Medicine at the Universidad del Salvador (USAL), and Adjunct Professor of Neurosurgery and Hemodinamics at the University of Buenos Aires. He is also Director of Master Degrees in Neuroradiology and Hemodynamics Neurology, Diagnostic Imaging, and Kinesiology of the University of Buenos Aires (UBA). He serves as Director and CEO of ENERI (Equipo de Neurocirugía y Radiología Intervencionista) and Clínica La Sagrada Familia in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Dr. Lylyk attended the faculty of Medicine of the University of Buenos Aires UBA). After graduating, he completed his residency program in Pediatric Neurosurgery with Prof. Dr. Raúl Carrea at the Ricardo Gutiérrez Children’s Hospital of Buenos Aires and a fellowship in Diagnostic Neuroradiology, Therapeutic and Endovascular Neurosurgery at the University Hospital of London of the University of Western Ontario, Canada, with Prof. Charles Drake and Allan Fox and at the University of California, Los Angeles, USA with Prof. Fernando Viñuela.

Former Director of FLENI (Fundación de Lucha contra las Enfermedades Neurológicas de la Infancia) and Clínica Adventista Belgrano in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Prof. Pedro Lylyk’s work and achievements in the neurosurgical field have spanned several decades, and range from a momentous intracranial stent placement in 1996, to leading the first in-human study of a novel hydrocephalus treatment in 2022—with more than 10,000 brain aneurysms and arteriovenous malformations (AVMs) treated in between. Since the mid-1980s, Lylyk has dedicated his career to the development and improvement of therapeutic options in endovascular neurosurgery, as well as the training of young physicians from all over the world.

His Endovascular Lab is one of the Training Centers for SILAN (Sociedad Iberolatinoamericana de Neurorradiología Diagnóstica y Terapéutica) fellows, which has allowed the training of more than 80 professionals since 1995.

Since 1986 he is dedicated to the development and improvement of devices and therapeutic options to enhance the Endovascular Neurosurgical field and represents a worldwide reference for the medical device industry. He has led and collaborated on multiple trials; acquiring extensive practical experience in the conduct of both, observational as well as randomized controlled trials of devices and procedures.

Founder of FENERI Foundation (Fundación para el Estudio de las Neurociencias y la Radiología Intervencionista), Co-Founder of the Cerebrovascular Research and Education Foundation (CREF), Co- founder of the Intracranial Stent Meeting and Society (ICS); Member of the SwissNeuroFoundation, Founding member and Ex President of SILAN, (Sociedad Iberolatinoamericana de Neurorradiología Diagnóstica y Terapéutica), AANDIT (Asociación Argentina de Neurorradiología Diagnóstica y Terapéutica, CANI (Colegio Argentino de Neurointervencionistas) and former-Director of the Argentine Brain Stroke Council of the Argentine Society of Cardiology. Member of the Swiss/Japan International Seminar on Medical Engineering Based on Vessel Biology, member of the Advisory Committee in Interventional Neuroradiology, (CINIUS), University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

As an active community member, Prof. Lylyk, leads the National Stroke Prevention Campaign in line with the World Stroke Organization at the Comprehension Stroke Center of Buenos Aires.

Current President of the AAAC (Asociación Argentina de Ataque Cerebral-Argentine Stroke Ass.). Dr. Lylyk is a longstanding member of the ASNR, RSNA, WFITN, SNIS, ESNR, CIRSE, ISMRM, ASITN, AHA, WSO, serving on multiple committees for these organizations.

Master of Neurosurgery at the Ether Dome, Boston, USA, World Federation of Neurosurgery, September 2009.

Distinguished as “Outstanding Personality of Science”. Legislature of Buenos Aires, Decree No. 617/011, November 30, 2011.

Recognition as “Quality Leader”, granted by the Pontifical Catholic University of Argentina – Santa Maria de los Buenos Aires (Universidad Católica Argentina (UCA), Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina Santa María de los Buenos Aires), within the framework of the Best National Practices in Patient Quality and Safety in Argentina, XIII Higher University Course in Management of Quality in Health Services. Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 29, 2014

Recognition as “International Fellow of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons” (IFAANS), The Harvey Cushing Society, September 1, 2015.

First Tribute to Men and Women of Health, 2015 Health Prize, University of Business and Social Sciences (UCES), December 17, 2015.

Emeritus and Honorary member of the Portuguese Society of Neuroradiology and Intervention – (SPNI), September 24th, 2016

Corresponding Member of the Chilean Society of Neurosurgery.

Distinguished as Honorary Member of the Official College of Physicians of La Coruña, Spain. First non-Spanish doctor to obtain this recognition. May 30 2018,”Honourable Guest” in the City of La Plata, Province of Buenos Aires, November 2014 and “Honourable Guest” of Province of Tucumán, November 2013.

His proudest achievement in neurosurgery and neuroradiology is the early treatment of the new born with Vein of Gallen Aneurysms that he performs throughout all these years (since 1990) with a challenging and improved technique at his center in Buenos Aires with his team.

More info